Phoenix Tropicals Phoenix Tropicals Gardening
Connect with your neighbors to swap gardening information.

Phoenix Tropicals

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Airtags on sale at Amazon!

Come Join The New Phoenix Tropicals Gardening Forum On Facebook

New member looking for education

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Phoenix Tropicals Gardening Forum Index -> Vegetables
View previous topic :: View next topic  
3D

PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2012 5:03 pm    Post subject: New member looking for education Reply with quote

Hello everyone!
Im brand new to this site. My primary reason for joining is to try to learn how to maintain a garden in this super hot/arid climate. Im not a gardening expert by any means whatsoever...but I do have a far amount of knowledge on topic like creating healthy living soil, ACT/AACTs and utilizing IMOs.

Since it August and the heat is just about unbearable, I am not going into the time frame where I tend to lose all the plants that I have outside (both potted and in the ground). I started my garden in my backyard in the ground which is orginally sand but I have have incorporated different things in order ot make it more suitable for veggies. I have had success with my chilies all year until today...I went outside to find all the plants dead and my Hibiscus plant which was good until a month ago...gave up on me also... Sad . Embarassed

Im hoping that someone can give me an education on how to maintain a perpetual garden that will support whatever plants and veggies appropriate for the time different times of the year. I plan to rip everything out of my garden and possibly do a raised bed but Im not sure if thats necessary?

Are there stickies that I could start reading? Im in Yuma by the way.
phoenixtropicals
Site Admin